Put Your Lights On

Today’s video prompt is one of my friend’s favorite songs, due in part to the following lines:

There’s an angel, with a hand on my head
She say I’ve got nothing to fear

Give it a look, listen to the *lyrics, and then write a little Flashy Fiction inspired Santana’s and Everlast’s “Put Your Lights On”.

Write something and share it!

*Here are the lyrics if you want to read over them

Hey now, all you sinners
Put your lights on, put your lights on
Hey now, all you lovers
Put your lights on, put your lights on

Hey now, all you killers
Put your lights on, put your lights on
Hey now, all you children
Leave your lights on, you better leave your lights on

‘Cause there’s a monster living under my bed
Whispering in my ear
There’s an angel, with a hand on my head
She say I’ve got nothing to fear

There’s a darkness deep in my soul
I still got a purpose to serve
So let your light shine, into my hole
God, don’t let me lose my nerve, don’t let me lose my nerve

Hey now, hey now, hey now, hey now
Wo-oh hey now, hey now, hey now, hey now

Hey now, all you sinners
Put your lights on, put your lights on
Hey now, all you children
Leave your lights on, you better leave your lights on

‘Cause there’s a monster living under my bed
Whispering in my ear
There’s an angel, with a hand on my head
She say I’ve got nothing to fear
She say La ill aha ill allah
We all shine like stars
La ill aha ill allah
We all shine like stars
Then we fade away

Songwriters: ERIK SCHRODY
© Warner/Chappell Music, Inc

4 thoughts on “Put Your Lights On

  1. IN THE BLINK OF AN EYE

    The clock is incessant in its reminder that time is slipping away from me. BANG! Seconds are ticking by. BANG! Each one as jolting as the shots ringing out in the solemnity of that day so long ago. BANG!Yet they don’t stop at 21. BANG! They keep on keeping on. BANG! My blood pressure rises with each one. BANG! My pulse races. BANG! Will my heart burst from chest? BANG!

    BANG!

    BANG!

    BANG!

    I hear voices around me, but they are like distant murmurs in the echoes of that clock. I don’t know who they are. I don’t know who has come to say goodbye. In spite of them, I feel so alone in this darkness. My husband waits for me, I’m sure of it. But I’m afraid. This is not a journey I’ve been on before. I don’t know what to expect. I want to join him. But I’m afraid. Was he afraid, too?

    Wait, why do I not hear the clock? Where did the murmuring voices go?

    “Who are you?” A beautiful being stands before me, wrapping me in light. More specifically, I wonder how it is that I am able to see. I feel the warm touch of a hand to my head.

    Time stands still.

    “Do not be afraid.”

    BANG!

    Liked by 1 person

Write Something! Share a little Flashy Fiction...

